My Silver Linings


I have been hit with more than my fair share of bad news lately, and it got me to thinking about all of the good things I have in my life that I am thankful for. I’ve realized that there are plenty:

I am thankful for my parents: They have raised me with unconditional love and given me quite an example to follow in life. The older I get, the more I am aware of that!

I am thankful that when I turned 18, I figured out that my brother was not really a person who was meant to torture me in life, but rather someone who was meant to be one of my best friends. (The torture did mold me into a tough person and makes for some amusing stories though.)

I am thankful for FATE- I believe it is what helped me to move across the street from my future husband at the age of 14.

Speaking of my husband, I am thankful everyday to know that he is the person I will still be holding hands with when I am old and gray!

I am thankful for the greatest accomplishment in my life: my daughter. She amazes me on a daily basis and fills my heart with an unexplainable joy – even when she is running through my house screeching at the top of her lungs, while the dog chases her!

I am thankful for the gigantic dog we have that unfortunately thinks he is a poodle. He literally crushes me with his love everyday, and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

I am thankful for my extended family – they say “You can’t pick your family”, but if I did have the choice, they are the ones I would pick – even the nutty ones!

I am thankful for my friends – the people we actually can pick in life! The closest ones are the dearest to me – because I can completely be myself with them, and somehow they continue to like me! 😉

I’m thankfully blessed with the best neighbors I could ever ask for. To walk out my front door and see people everyday that I consider my FRIENDS is a wonderful thing.

Finally, I am thankful for the wise words of my father: “When you go out into the world, choose a career that you love, or in the end it will be nothing but a job.” He was 100% correct on that one! I get to spend my days doing what I LOVE with some of the greatest people I know. Even the least smooth of days has a great point in it somewhere, and it’s usually quite hysterical!

So – there it is…a big bundle of thankfulness. Ahhhh! I’m happy, healthy, loved, and incredibly blessed – what more could I ask for? I can’t think of a one!

“People who lead the most fulfilling lives are the ones who rejoice in what they have.”
Today, I am most certainly rejoicing!

Posted on April 25, 2011, in Thankful and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

